Pharmacy U

CFP names Carole McKiee as the 2016 Pillar of Pharmacy Award recipient


The Canadian Foundation for Pharmacy (CFP) has named pharmacist Carole McKiee and Pfizer Leader in Pharmacy as the 2016 Pillar of Pharmacy Award recipient for her longstanding commitment to the pharmacy profession in Canada.


“Carole’s dedication, hard work and vision will continue to have a profound impact on the people that she has touched and our profession as a whole,” said Roxanne Tang, director, Pharmacy Services at Medical Pharmacies Group Limited (MPGL). “I feel that Carole is an outstanding candidate for the Pillar of Pharmacy Award.”


Graduating first in her class from the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Pharmacy, Carole has realized an illustrious career spanning more than four decades and covering multiple facets of pharmacy. During her early years, Carole was a pharmacy director for a rehabilitation hospital.  She later spent nine years providing pharmacy services to long-term care and retirement homes as a clinical and consultant pharmacist. She has also held senior management positions with pharmacy chains both provincially and nationally. Carole spent the last 15 years with MPGL in an executive capacity where she has guided and directed the development of the company’s integrated pharmaceutical care model, as well as spearheaded government relations. Recently retired from her position as Senior Vice President, she continues to influence MPGL’s future as a member of its Board of Directors.


A central figure in advancing the profession, Carole has contributed to many pharmacy associations and government organizations throughout her career. One of her most significant achievements was in founding the Canadian Society of Consultant Pharmacists (CSCP), where she also served as president and led the council in developing the first-ever Canadian Standards of Practice for Long-Term Care. For five years, Carole was Chair of the Ontario Pharmacists Association Long-Term Care Working Group and a member of the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care Pharmacy Council. In fact, she brought a balanced perspective to many organizations, including the National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities (NAPRA), Canadian Association of Chain Drug Stores (CACDS), Rx Canada, Ontario College of Pharmacists (OCP) and Canadian Pharmacist Association (CPhA).


Carole was unanimously selected for this award by CFP Board members. In receiving the Pillar of Pharmacy, she joins a group of other distinguished past winners who have contributed to the successful advancement of pharmacy in Canada.